A work in progress or a hot mess.

A friend suggested that I write one blog post a day, but I don’t think I have enough material for one post a day. And if I did write every day, it’d be very boring instead of just usual-boring.

But, I have been writing more. I do my usual pieces for Cheeky Chicago, and more personal things. I had been writing a piece that I’ve been working on for a while, but it becomes very difficult and then I stop. I’ve been trying to ignore that, and just write – because someone told me, “Just remember, and write it down.” I guess I struggle with something if it’s not completely perfect the first time out.

I am not a perfectionist by any means. My apartment is continually in a state of creative chaos (but surprise, surprise I’m working on that too!), I absolutely abhor the idea of everything being neat and tidy (though, ok, it looks better, I’ll admit), I’m really bad at arts and crafts, and I commit fashion suicide pretty much daily.

On the upside I’ve been incorporating new things into my life. Shockingly, most of these new things have to do with exercise. I signed up for a Zumba class – and if there is ever a fitness class to remind you that you are completely out of shape, you have no rhythm, and you are the whitest white girl ever – it’s Zumba. So weekly, I make a complete ass out of myself, but I enjoy it, and keep hope alive that one day I’ll um… be better.

I’ve also forayed into Yoga, both as a way to become more flexible and to have a constructive way to deal with stress and anger. I’ve only done it once, but I can see the benefits. I wish I did it more on my own, but I really have no idea what I’m doing, so it’s probably best not to.

These things are all very important to me, right now. And I hope that some of them become lifelong activities. Because, really, if you can’t love yourself, you’ll have a hard time loving anyone else. I hate when people say that, but it’s absolutely true. The people you associate with are a direct extension of you – who you are, what you like, how you feel. So these are ways for me to explore that – writing, relaxation, and a weekly 45-minute reminder of humility.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

