Saw this on facebook tonight…

“Apologizing does not always mean that you are wrong and the other person is right. It just means that you value your relationship more than your ego.”

 

I guess this means I value a lot of my relationships, because I apologize all the time. I have a really hard time letting go of the things that should be let go of – all I see are the trees, and not necessarily that I’m in the middle of a forest. Or however that analogy is supposed to work – I’m not quite sure.

But what I mean is that a lot of the time, I wonder how people ever get through anything. Until one day, you wake up and realize that somehow you HAVE dealt with, accepted, and come to peace with whatever situation you may find yourself in – even if you’re not quite sure when it happened. At the moments when I have recognized that I have moved on, the first thing I feel is a pang of guilt. Because, for me, one of the most important parts of moving on is the fact that you’ve left someone or something behind. That’s where the acceptance truly comes in. That’s where forgiveness can transform you.

So, as Jason Mraz would say, “I’m waiting for my rocket to come,” to figure out which relationships are worth keeping and which ones are better off severed. Because most of the time, we’re better than what we give ourselves credit for, and we are only limited by what we allow ourselves to become limited by.

I really should follow my own advice, but … why would I ever do something like that?

Leave a Reply

