Boundaries. Limits. Etc. Ad Nauseam.

Day 2. Boundaries. Oh how I love them. Also known as limits.

I took some calculus in high school, and I remember being fascinated by the concept of limits. But I was particularly intrigued by the concept of “infinity” – no limits. The concept that something could go on forever, without end.

Beattie says, “…having and setting healthy limits is connected to … letting go of guilt and shame, and to changing our beliefs about what we deserve.”

I have always had trouble with limits. When I think of boundaries, or limits, I think of people who offend them. Although I have done so in the past, I find that pushing limits and overstepping boundaries, only leads to hurt and confusion. On the other hand, if people didn’t … it makes me wonder where we’d be. But there have been times in my life when not setting limits immediately made me absolutely miserable later. I was too afraid of losing someone or something, and what I actually ended up losing was my sense of self.

It’s a pretty scary thing, if you think about it.

I need to remind myself that boundaries can be (even are!) good, and the people and things that may be affected by those limits – if they so choose – might even stick around. If they don’t, then maybe it wasn’t meant to be. As a friend of mine always used to tell me, “When you reach your limit, you’ll know.”

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

