Help? I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Help.

Day 5. Don’t be afraid to ask for help, if we need it. Being headstrong or doing things alone isn’t always the best option.

I’m not immune to asking for help, but I definitely don’t like it. And, according to Beattie, asking for help is in itself a risk. So if I were to take the risk, I might open myself up to having a new and good experience.

Who knows. It makes me a little nervous NOT to do most things myself because I’m a little OCD. There are things I do that make sense to absolutely no one (it even happens at work – for example, I have faxes separated by day and perpendicular to themselves; otherwise, it drives me crazy).

Asking for help involves trust in who you ask for help. I guess most people – myself included – are afraid of being let down, or any other negative reaction. People can always promise things, but only a select few actually do what they say they’re going to. It’s sort of maddening.

Regardless, it doesn’t mean I should cross the whole concept off. It’s something I definitely need to work on (even if it means that it’s not exactly the way *I* would do it).

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Help? I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Help.

  1. brittany says:

    or maybe you can invest less of yourself in a request for help. maybe asking for help is just a simple thing, not a reflection on who you are or who cares about you the most or who you care about. maybe it’s a signifier of NOTHING except the task at hand. not everything has to mean something.
    this is my birthday wisdom, custom-built just for you.

Leave a Reply

