Responsibility

“Every act of rebellion expresses… an appeal to the essence of being.” – Albert Camus

Whenever I feel like things around me are getting really crazy, the first thing I look to change is my hair. I do so about every 6-8 months. Maybe in some way I feel like this is the only thing I have control over, amidst the problems and worries of every day life.

I guess you could ask, “Is your life really so hectic as to warrant a hairstyle change at least twice a year?” The answer to that is no – but it is something that I do, for me and me alone. Because I want to.

Beattie would say that this is a good choice on my part. Day 9 is all about responsibility to ourselves. She says, “The most beneficial act we can perform is to be true to ourselves, and let others take responsibility for themselves.”

I keep mulling over this concept, and it seems almost impossible for the word “selfish” not to creep into my mind. YES – you have a right to take and should take care of yourself. YES – I have a problem and tend to make others’ problems my own. YES – I’m avoidant.

See? Glad we got that out of the way.

If I do a quick inventory of all things “me” at this moment: (mutter selfish selfish selfish)

What do I think? My house is a mess.

What do I feel? Nostalgic.

What do I want? A million dollars. And a Kit Kat. And a massage. I want a world in which all of this should be available to all people. And we could live peacefully and chocolate-filled.

What do I need? Authenticity. And to run for President, with a platform like the above.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Responsibility

  1. perfect. and who is that bat bitching at us about being selfish anyway? i hear her too.

  2. I would vote for you, if you had a chocolate-filled platform.

Leave a Reply

