And then there’s that guilt thing.

It’s like this book is reading my mind!!! … or I really am codependent, and that’s why I got this book in the first place.

Day 11, entitled “Letting Go of Guilt,” … well, let’s just say that you could put my picture there and be done with that day.

Maybe it’s actually guilt that is my worst enemy. And according to Beattie, “it’s imperative that we stop feeling so guilty.” Read that? Imperative. Which is adult-speak for “listen the fuck up.”

As Spandau Ballet sings, I know this much is true: Letting go of this will be awfully hard.

Not that I walk around saying to myself, “Self, what can I feel guilty about today?” It’s just not something I’m used to. I am the peacemaker, remember? I often concede in arguments. And if I don’t, then I’m super passive aggressive.

… And then three days later I’m STILL thinking about it. And then I apologize to make myself feel better.

Wish me luck. I’ll need it.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

