On Prayer.

I pray more often than I do not.

I went to Catholic school as a kid and as a teenager. I know a lot about the Bible, and about the people it concerned. I went to church almost every Sunday. I almost applied for a Christian fellowship to travel for a year before I went to college. I stopped going to church once I got to college.

Literally. The first Sunday I was there I got lost trying to find the campus church and instead wandered until I FOUND a church, which I’m not even sure was a Catholic church. I caught the last 20 minutes. I thought God might give me an E for Effort. And after that, I stopped going to churches altogether, whether they were on-or-off campus.

I don’t really know why this is. I remember taking the idea of religion very seriously as a kid. I had a Bible that had a pink cover and inside it was illustrated by comics (to this day I hate the color pink, but the comics more than made up for it). And somewhere, in searching for a building on that first Sunday away from home, I came to the conclusion that you don’t have to find a building to find God.

When I do go these days, it’s usually for a holiday. And God and I are very cordial to each other. I say hey and he’s all, What up, and we get along nicely.

According to Beattie, prayer is “learning to take care of the spirit, our soul, because that is where all true change begins.”

I pray more often than I do not. But what if the prayers are empty? Does anyone listen to anything if they don’t find it worthwhile? Does God have to listen to prayers because he is God?

… Did God also read “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret”?

I pray more often than I do not, and I’ll continue to do so in the mindset that I’m trying to bring about peace to this soul of mine.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

