Gratitude.

So, as it turns out, in my dedication to keep doing a blog post a day, I did something unthinkable.

I ACCIDENTALLY SKIPPED A DAY.

Which means what I posted yesterday was supposed to be today, and what I posted the day before that was supposed to be yesterday. Get it?

Yeah. I’m a little confused myself.

I’m trying not to let this little slip up bother me – it’s almost as if it worked out for the best anyway.

Day 20 (which is really Day 18!! … ok I’ll let it go.) is about gratitude, and so I will say this:

In a weird sort of way, I’m grateful for mistakes. I make a lot of them and I’ll probably continue to do so, but – you learn from mistakes. And the ones that you don’t learn from… you will, eventually. Or maybe they weren’t mistakes, after all.

When I ran last Sunday, I went north (I mean northeast) through Uptown on my way to the lake. Under the viaduct, I saw mattresses laid out in rows, covered in ratty blankets wet with snow. I have no idea what it is like to be homeless (though there was the incident of 1992 wherein I decided I was going to run away from home at the age of eight… I think I made it a block?). I am so grateful that I have a place to live. It may be messy and a bit run down and the faucet always leaks and it’s never warm enough BUT I have a place to call home.

I have my money troubles, as all liberal arts graduates do, but I’m fortunate enough to have a job, and write on the side even though I don’t get paid for it. Especially in this economy. I may never be able to pay off my credit and student loan debt, but I have a steady paycheck. And with this paycheck I can support my caffeine habit, my music habit, and, you know, pay the bills. Some of them.

I’m grateful for my family and friends without whom I’m not sure I could survive. They teach me about life, make me laugh and they accept me, good or bad. Someone once told me, “I love you, always, no matter what,” after I had made some particularly flawed decisions. It’s those kinds of reminders that let you know, however scummy or bad you feel, someone loves you. And that says a lot, if you’re choosing to listen.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

