If valentines were actually heart-shaped… um. Ew.

“What lips my lips have kissed, and where, and why/I have forgotten, and what arms have lain/Under my head till morning; but the rain/Is full of ghosts tonight; that tap and sigh…” – Edna St. Vincent Millay

I don’t remember when I first heard the above poem. All I know is that I love it. And this, Valentine’s Day, being about love… well, I thought it fitting.

(Except that, really, Valentine’s Day didn’t turn into something about love until much, much later… the origin being a couple people who became martyrs. Of course. It’s where all holidays start. Death.)

I read somewhere that today is a way to tell people you love them, as if you should reserve only THIS ONE DAY to say, “Hey, random person. I love you.” Meh. I disagree.

Also, it strikes me that the heart-shaped symbol is one given out freely today. Because if we had a heart-shaped symbol that was actually shaped like a heart, I’d guarantee you we’d stop giving out valentines.

And in terms of letting go? It’s about remembering to love yourself and those around you. It’s about healing and learning to love. It’s about being open to the possibility of love.

Today, I bought cookies for people at work. I meant to bake but realized that I didn’t have all the ingredients a little too late last night. And even though I don’t love everyone I work with, I figured it was a nice gesture. I also wished as many people as I could a happy valentine’s day. It might have meant something to them. And if it didn’t, that’s ok. I gave lots of hugs, because that’s what I do. And then I went home and slept, because all that love was just exhausting.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone. Be kind to yourself.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “If valentines were actually heart-shaped… um. Ew.

  1. brittany says:

    i think valentine’s day is kind of a stupid non-holiday. does this make me a scrooge? grinch? jerk? whatevs….i can totally live with any of the above. but i looooooove you, valentine’s blog girl!

Leave a Reply

