Supply and Demand.

I was never very good at Economics. I took a semester of it in high school, I think, but I don’t remember. I do remember that I took the class my first semester of college my freshman year, and I failed, horribly. By the grace of God, I got my grade up to a D. It’s the only letter of its kind on my academic record. (Waa waaaaa.) (To be fair, the class was at 8:30am on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and I mean… REALLY? You expect me to be awake? To make matters worse, I purposely sat in the front row so that it would force me to pay attention… but then I would fall asleep anyway.)

Well, as I’ve gotten older, I’m still not an econ whiz, but I do understand the concept of supply and demand a bit better. Today, Beattie asks us to imagine what it would be like if everything we wanted was supplied for us. Maybe, she writes, what we needed was there all along, but we weren’t aware of it.

This is an interesting concept, but the cynical part of me thinks of it’s sort of like a rom-com. You don’t notice your best guy friend is incredibly gorgeous but then he IS and he’s loved you ALL ALONG. But, wait. Wait. I’m being too harsh. I’ll admit that every now and then I’ve experienced the seeming casual occurrence of something that I needed actually happening. But when it does, I wonder if I’m making too much of a big deal out of what, realistically, could be absolutely nothing. It’s like, if you go into a public restroom and you go into the ONE stall that doesn’t have any toilet paper. But then, magically, some appears!  WAS IT THERE ALL ALONG? Did Someone SENSE you needed toilet paper and so that need was met?

See? It gets tricky. But, so is life. And sometimes – really – the things you want happen when you least expect them. And I do think that some of them happen when you’re too busy to notice, and so in retrospect you experience an “ah ha!” moment. I guess it’s all about staying open and (mostly) aware. And above all, don’t be afraid to ask.

… especially if you need toilet paper.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

