Go With The Flow.

“I want something good to die for to make it beautiful to live.” – Queens of the Stone Age

Beattie gently reminds her readers today, “Don’t panic. Go with the flow.” (Get my quote now?  Well, you would if you listened to alternative music in 2003! … I’ve always kind of liked that lyric, though – even if it is a bit dark.)

I’m getting better at going with the flow. Tonight, for example, I got home from work and I just DID NOT want to go running. When I looked at my calendar, it said we were doing negative splits, which means that you come back faster than you go out. And I thought, “I’m a SLOW runner! I always start out slow and get faster toward the end! I don’t need to do these!” But, truth be told, I haven’t been giving running my 100% lately. I’ve been doing group long runs but not any of the weekly speed drills.

And so, after a little nudging, I dragged myself over to the group. I was the only one in my group with my pace time, so I ran side by side with one of the assistant pacers. And it turned out pretty well. I started at about a 12-13 -minute mile and pushed myself toward the end to get a 9:45-minute mile! (If you listen closely, you can hear me going, “EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!” because I am.)

So because I stopped resisting the urge to not go, I ended up doing better than I thought I would. Some of that is due to mentality, even if it was, “I WANT TO GET THIS OVER WITH!” but really good things happened. And I will DEFINITELY be sore tomorrow.

I think the same can pretty much be said for any example. Sometimes you just have to stop thinking about things and let them work themselves out. Stop thinking about worries and push through and you might unknowingly solve your problem.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

