The Joy Of Napping.

I’m a firm believer in naps. I don’t mean one of those 20-minute-power ones, but mostly because it takes me longer than 20 minutes to fall asleep, usually. And, also, I really like to sleep.

The naps I extol today are the 3-hour-plus ones – and if you think those can’t be classified as “naps” but rather “sleeps” – well, I sort of agree with you a little bit, but that’s only because – again – I value my sleep, and I never seem to get enough. Naps help with everything. If you are sick, they might make you feel better. If you are exhausted, you wake up feeling refreshed. If you are working out, even reluctantly, it’s a respite from the inevitable pain your body will start to feel. If you are bored, it kills time.

In the wake of yesterday’s negative split adventure, there was today’s kickboxing class. I kicked, punched, kneed and elbowed my way through an entire hour. At the end I worked on abs on the TRX machine. You had to use your core to elongate your body parallel to the ground, probably about an inch or two above it, and recoil back to your starting point. I did about 5 of these, and when I say “did,” I mean every time I tried to roll out I fell flat on the floor.

“Good! That’s good,” my instructor said. I looked at him like I was crazy. And I probably did look crazy, my arms stretched out in front of me, looped in each TRX handle, my body spread out on the floor like a beached whale, looking up at him.

“Well,” he smiled. “You can only get better from here.”

I then went to see an apartment on my way home, but I didn’t like it. I came home and began my search once again. Becoming frustrated, and feeling my eyelids start to give way, I opted for a nap.  (A word, here. Normally, I wouldn’t pray for every muscle in my body to be pulsating with pain but in this case it helps for the immediacy of sleeping. And for this – and I guess, for the knowledge that I worked hard and did something – I am grateful that my body was screaming at me.)

I fell asleep quite easily, only to be woken up by a phone call. It was my mother. Except, I was in the middle of a really nice nap, the kind where angels serenade you with harps and tell you to keep on sleeping. I have no idea why I answered the phone – probably because I had no clue what was going on – and there was my mom:

“Hi, honey. How are you?”

“What? I’m fine.”

” mumble mumble work mumble mumble?”

Waitwork? I quickly looked at the clock. It said 6:45. And this is where I became hella confused. A.M.? or P.M.? Wait, how long did I sleep? Wait, why am I not still sleeping? Oh, shit! I was still on the phone, and my mom was still talking.

“Honey? What are you up to? Are you working?”

“NO! I don’t work til 9 tomorrow.” Somehow, my brain figured out that it still had many hours to rest. I told her I loved her, and that I had to go. I had a nap to get back to.

I fell back to sleep, but by then my addled brain came up with a freakin’ strange dream, one that involved no angels at all. I blame the phone call for disturbing my slumber.

Still, it was just what I needed (even though I will most likely be sleeping soon again anyway). I have to remember to cherish these times of (somewhat-renewing) naps, before life’s circumstances take them away from me.

… Or I may have to become proficient at 20-minute-power naps.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Joy Of Napping.

  1. naysaysstuff says:

    I know what you mean! There’s nothing like a nice long nap.

Leave a Reply

