Back to Basics.

I’m spending tonight at my parent’s house. I feel like I’ve been doing that more often lately. It’s weird in a way. You spend so much time when you’re younger just waiting to leave, to live on your own, to do your own thing – only to grow up some and enjoy spending time with your parents.

It took a while to get here today. Work was crazy, and I’m still not done with everything I had to do. I tried to catch a train at 4:40, but as soon as I rushed out of work I knew I was going to miss it. I waited at the train station (ever notice how time doesn’t fly when you need or want it to?) and got here about 8pm. It didn’t take long for me and my younger sister to go to Dairy Queen and get ice cream. I actually drove, which is something I don’t do a lot of. I think the more I don’t do it, the more afraid of it I become, but it’s really just a mental thing. So, yes, I may have risked our lives, but we got back okay. 🙂

I think, every now and then, it’s a good thing to take a time out, and go to a place that’s familiar. Whether that’s your concept of home, or the ocean, or your favorite coffee shop – whatever it is, take some time to breathe. When I was on the train today, I remember feeling so stressed out due to the day I had, and the fact that the traveling was taking forever. “New Slang” by the Shins came on my iPod, and I closed my eyes for a moment and gave myself time to calm down.

So, in case things seem super overwhelming, do yourself a favor. Get back to what helps calm you down and be around those who make you smile (even if they irk you, too. 🙂 ).

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

