Grey Skies Are Gonna Clear Up…

Yesterday, I wrote about taking a step back when things become too overwhelming. And then I stopped writing and stopped obsessing, but only a little. That is to say, I took a deep breath, and dropped expectations for the moment … but continued to worry. Lately, I’ve been staying up way past my bedtime, worrying about anything and everything.

(Someday, I might take my own advice.)

I keep repeating in my head, “accept the things you cannot change… but fuck that!” Why shouldn’t you push? Why should you accept?

Is acceptance a sign of maturity? Does it mean I haven’t?

Eh. I’m mature when I want to be. I’m mature when I don’t even realize it. I need work, though. Like a new paint job on an old car, or something. (My analogies just keep getting worse.)

So the good news: I may have found an apartment! (excitement pending.)

Kickboxing tomorrow after two weeks of going without! I haven’t practiced as much as I should have, but kicking the shit out of things and sweating my ass off sounds ultimately awesome.

So the lesson for you (and me) is: you don’t have to accept everything, but being stubborn won’t help you much, either. Work on acceptance until you find peace. Until then, kicking ass is always a good idea.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

