Your Issue. Not Mine.

First off – have to give a huge shout out to the mothers on this mother’s day, who shot children out of their vaginas (as Juno once said, “like free iPods”). This joke obviously doesn’t work if you had a C-section, but I’m sure you can imagine – even if you don’t want to.

In case you were wondering, no, I’ve never had children.

I spent yesterday and some of today with my stepmom and most of today with my mom. They’re two totally different ladies, but each one of them is awesome. When I was at dinner with my mom today, she mentioned how I was “a dream of a kid.” I couldn’t imagine being a “dream” of anything, but it was a nice compliment.

It made me wonder why my first reaction was to doubt what she said. I mean – sure – moms are typically one of their children’s biggest supporters, but it wasn’t like she was up-talking or anything. It made me think of how I respond to what people say to me.

I read Beattie’s topic tonight, and it just spoke to me. She calls it property lines – basically, if someone has an issue, it’s important to remember that it’s theirs and not yours. I respond a lot of the time to negativity, even though I remind myself not to. If someone’s having a problem, I automatically want to jump in and help them smooth it over. I very, very rarely let anything just ride out without interfering somehow.

Again, it’s about taking a step back. If you think about it, it’s kind of how a parent would raise their child. The older they get, the more they have to let go of the reins. Eventually, you’re going to have to let go and let them make their own decisions.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

