Adventures in Running: The Return

Today is May 15. I have not run since April 19, when I achieved my fastest mile to date: an 11:20 mile.

I began training for the Chicago Marathon today with fear and trepidation for a couple of reasons. 1) I have not run in almost a month. 2) I requested to be put in a somewhat faster training group (instead of running 3-4 minutes and walking for 2, I am now doing 5/1s). 3) I have not run in almost a month. 4) The 5/1 training schedule – as well as the marathon training schedule – is a bit more demanding overall. I feel like I really need to put my heart and soul into this. 5) I have a time goal in mind.

When I took a break from running, I did so because my body felt like it was rebelling against me. Heartburn rose up out of nowhere, and with it, unpleasant chest pains – especially when I ran. That issue is not completely gone, though it has gotten better – and truth be told, I’m somewhat excited to see what I can do this time. When I began running in the winter of 2011, I had no idea what I was doing, what I was getting myself into. I still have close to no idea what I am doing, but I have a general concept of how running makes me feel, even if I find it tough. For the most part, it makes me want to keep going.

Today, I ran for 12 minutes at 5/1. That is the rough equivalent of 2 cycles, and though I didn’t die, it was a bit too hot for my taste. It was easy enough for me to convince myself to keep going, but at the point that I stopped it was just as easy for me to tell myself to quit. I need to (and want to) get rid of that mentality. When I returned home, one side of my face was dripping with sweat (which was a little weird) and I realized that I had set my RunKeeper app to cycling instead of running (though I don’t think it mattered).

I was proud that I got out there for the time that I did, and pleasantly surprised that I hadn’t lost much in terms of mile time (I averaged between 12:30 and 13 minutes). I thought it would be way worse.

Today, Beattie wrote that we should face risks, even in the face of failure. My risk was that I got off my ass, even though I had felt horrible for taking as long of a hiatus from running as I did. It wasn’t that bad, but it can certainly get better. My risk is going to be facing the challenge of laziness, getting out there, and seeing what I can do. Hopefully, the marathon won’t know what ran it. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

