The Trials and Tribulations of Moving.

I have approximately a week and a half to pack up my current life and move it a couple blocks away from where I live now.

I have never wanted to do anything less in my entire life. I hate packing. Not only do I hate it, I am no good at it. I will put coffee cups with picture frames. I really don’t care.

My mom’s coming over tomorrow and helping me pack. It doesn’t really matter how old you are, if your parents come over for anything you sort of get this nervous energy wondering how your house looks. I started to clean about 2 hours ago, and then I gave up. I also told her I’d have most everything already done. HA! Yeah, right.

Hopefully she will help me sort through what I need to keep and what I can throw away (cassette tapes from 1994?). The problem with that is that I think everything’s important (they might come back! like vinyl!). So, tomorrow will be interesting.

Realistically, I think we’re better off using the day to go shopping. 🙂

Have a good night, everyone. Be kind to yourselves.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Trials and Tribulations of Moving.

  1. Andrew says:

    You better not throw away any Wilson Phillips or Amy Grant tapes!

  2. goodoldgirl says:

    Could be worse. You coul d be in hesituation I was in two years ago — all packed up and then the people buying my house didn’t.

    PS: Keep the vinyl but lose the cassette taps!

  3. There was a time when I had moved 3.5 times in the 2 years (yes, one can do a half move). I think about half of my belongings are still in the boxes from the first one. I am pretty sure if the stuff you own is still in boxes 2 years later (or 6, whatever…) you can go ahead and get rid of it. I just can’t bring myself to chucking them. What if there is something great in them? Like my old Lite Brite! Can’t live without that.
    Good luck on your move!

    • amanda says:

      I know! Moving is tough. I think I did a good job of throwing a lot of stuff away (though I probably still have a lot of junk that I’m not ready to part with – the wine bottle opener with the cork stuck on it? I’ll get it eventually!). Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

