Running, Ice Cream, And The Ocean

This morning at 6am, I woke up to go running. My dad and I drove to Mission Bay Park, a series of coves near Sea World in San Diego. It was nice to have a designated path to run on; however, I still have the stupids and got confused.

I started off relatively well; averaging an 11:30 mile time. At one point, the path took me behind some houses and I started to wonder if I was actually running in peoples’ backyards (turns out, I wasn’t). Instead, I followed some kids who were skateboarding and ended up running into a parking lot that I thought would connect again to the path (turns out, it didn’t).

After a while, I didn’t know what I was doing. My phone said I had run two miles but the ground said three. I turned around then and my left leg muscle started cramping (it’s always the left leg! WHY?!). So, I walked all the way back to the car.

During my walk back, I got really mad at myself for not doing the full run, even though I did the full distance and then some. I know you should – first and foremost – listen to your body; I just wish mine would work a little harder in lieu of the marathon that’s coming in a few months.

I returned to the hotel to eat breakfast. I ate two danishes and a bagel and tragedy struck! THEY PUT THE FOOD AWAY!!! Hungry and still dejected, I went back to my room and slept until 1pm.

Later in the afternoon, my family and I went to Coronado. Coronado is an island, and the Hotel Del Coronado is one of the largest I’ve ever seen. It was here that I found what I was looking for: the ocean.

Although astrology says that I’m an air sign, I’ve always been strangely attracted to the ocean. Not that I really pay attention to astrology, so maybe that’s not a good way to start this out. I just love the water. I find it to be really calming and peaceful.

Before I got a chance to go down to the water, though, I had some of the best ice cream in the world. I shared half my cone with my sister, so I didn’t feel like I ruined my workout 😉 .

After that, we decided to take six-seater bikes around the island. Needless to say, my legs will be jelly tomorrow. (And I will be overeating tonight.)

The last thing I did was to run down to the ocean. It was everything I hoped for. I stood there for a moment, and (because I am strange) said “thank you” to the water. I felt relieved and peaceful, as if I had just taken a yoga class that had actually worked for me.

Off to get seafood! Tomorrow, I return home.

20120527-191648.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

