Attack of The Festivals!!

This weekend, it was as if the City of Chicago decided to get all of their festivals out of the way so that all they’d have to worry about was The Taste, and Lollapalooza.

In no particular order, there is: RibFest. Old Town Art Fair. Andersonville Fest. Blues Fest. Printers Row Lit Fest. Plus assorted fests in the ‘burbs.

Not to mention that this was the weekend Children’s Memorial decided to move to their new location downtown, so they shut down an entire street to shuttle ambulances back and forth.

Needless to say, today was a long day at work trying to organize deliveries while navigating the madness that has taken over the city.

I didn’t leave work til almost 7pm; I was going to go to Blues Fest, but decided against it. I probably should have gone because it took me about an hour and a half to get home. About 3 miles from home I decided walking would be the best option. I stopped at the grocery store, and about a mile from home, got a cab. During my walk, I almost felt relieved that I don’t have a car. Traffic was (and continues to be) an absolute clusterfuck, and people behind the wheel are certainly letting their angries out. (I saw one person driving down the street really slowly, while giving the finger to the car behind him. The car [with about six people in it] behind him then proceeded to keep a steady hand on the horn and tailgate the aforementioned car, and all I could think was, “This is how people die.”)

As I sit here in the safety of my apartment, I’m debating whether or not to try and go to any of the festivals tomorrow. I’ve always wanted to go to Printers Row Lit Fest, because I enjoy those things called books, but I’m also trying to save money which is (and always will be forever and ever amen) hard for me.

Decisions, decisions.

Speaking of decisions, Chicago… maybe next year space it out a little, eh?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

