Dog Day Afternoon.

Remember the movie Dog Day Afternoon? And how hot it was?

That’s how I felt today.

Except it wasn’t afternoon, and I wasn’t robbing a bank to pay for my lover’s sex change.

I merely attempted to go for a run at 6am, when it was 75 degrees out.

But it was HOT.

I mean, there was a slight breeze, but it did me no favors. I tried to run 5 miles, ran out of water, stupidly didn’t stop to refill my water, and ended up feeling absolutely no bueno.

When I got back to the plaza where the running coaches and teams were stretching, one of the coaches asked if I was wearing cotton.

“No,” I said, somewhat indignantly. What kind of dumbass wears cotton in this weather, especially when they run? Not me. (PS – in case you don’t know, don’t run or exercise in cotton if you can help it. Wear polyester or a blend of some sort – helps with moisture.)

And then I got home. And discovered that my tank top, that I had bought and thought I’d checked the tags for, was 98% cotton and 2% spandex.

Mother. Bitches.

So as much as I’d like to blame this on awful weather and cotton blends, I know that I really need to step up my game training for this marathon. You get out of it what you put into it, and lately running hasn’t been on the top of my list.

This weekend I’m going out of town, but the weekend after that I will make sure that:

1) I have sufficient water, and I will stop to get water if I need more even if the rest of the group doesn’t.

2) I will wear proper clothing.

3) I will listen to my body, and my breathing. If I need to switch to a different interval, I will (one of those times to say “fuck you” to ego and just do what you need to to take care of yourself).

I’m not going to lie: I felt pretty defeated today. I did the distance, but I don’t feel good or accomplished. Overall I feel pretty lackluster.

Ah, well. At least it might rain tomorrow. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

