Stop, Collaborate and Listen.

“…It is not what we intend but what we do that makes us useful.” – Henry Ward Beecher

Today, I ran 11 miles. My phone died about 9 miles in, so I have no idea how I really did, except that I’m really sore and chafed (ugh).

I find myself worrying more and more the longer the training for the marathon goes on. I think that if I had put more effort in in the beginning, I wouldn’t be having these issues now, but you never really know.

Intentions are great; they really are. HOWEVER, intentions don’t get results if you don’t work toward them.

When I decided to run this marathon, I gave myself a time goal as a motivator. It’s motivated me about as much as watching paint dry.

So, screw the time goal. I’ll finish when I finish. I have to stop worrying. I have to continue trying. And for God’s sake (what is that, anyway?), I need to fucking discipline myself already.

The longer this goes, the more I’m unhappy with my results. It’s time for all of that to change. To remember that there was a time when I actually got something out of running, instead of just doing it to do it.

So, with the help of Vanilla Ice lyrics, I’m gonna take some inventory of what’s going on in my life right now (stop), do some research (collaborate) and work, step-by-step, on this (listen).

Have a good night, everyone. Be kind to yourselves.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

