What Up, August?!

“They love to tell you, ‘Stay inside the lines.’ But something’s better on the other side.” – John Mayer

Today, one of the first things I did was to fill out a blank calendar for August with all of my workouts for the month. I did that for the remaining two weeks of July and it really seemed to help with motivation.

Today, one of the second things I did was to open up an entire bag of Reeses Pieces and eat them for breakfast.

I’ll get it right one of these days.

I tried to run this evening and was feeling pretty good – until I felt the familiar twinge of my shin splint creeping up. I stopped and bought a compression wrap, so hopefully that will help. Although I do think it’s getting better because it took about a mile and half for me to start to feel anything. Yay!

I don’t really want to commit to much of anything else right now, but I don’t think it’d hurt anything if I applied some of the same principles to my artistic endeavors (though I’d have to make a shit ton more calendars… LAME). I looked up writing classes yesterday and posted a Facebook status considering taking them; though there was some debate on Facebook about the merits of grad school – quite a few people agreed that writing was work, to get better at it, you must do it, etc.

Obviously writing a blog for a straight year helps to keep the mind fresh; some might even say that I have become a better writer. My biggest problem, I think, is structure. Ideas for books lead to writing for a day or two – at most a week – and then they fall by the wayside. I think I would benefit from a small group setting. I’m still mulling it over, though.

I’ve been taking music lessons on and off for years, and if money allows, I’d like to keep doing it. I love music in many forms – and there was a time I loved performing it, but stage fright and anxiety prevent that from happening even if there’s just one other person in the room. I really would like to get over the roadblock, but like everything else, it takes time and practice.

I’m really grateful for all these experiences that are happening in my life right now. It just feels good to be doing things that may be challenging, but that I enjoy. Perhaps I’m not as immersed as I could be or should be, but maybe one day I’ll get there if I keep pushing little by little.

Have a good night, everyone. Be kind to yourselves.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

