Oh Saturday, My Saturday.

Today was an unusual Saturday in that I said, “Sayonara, bitches!” to work at a time when I generally do not. By 11:15a, with my OCD tendencies satisfied, I was out the door and heading down to Soldier Field to get my packet for tomorrow’s race.

Before I even walked into the expo (a tent), however, I heard the jams of Michael Jackson blaring through. And while I enjoy some MJ from time to time, I knew this wasn’t going to be an expo I stayed and wandered around. I walked up and down four lanes to get to the actual goodie bag/bib pickup, and once that was over, I walked right back out. Not even MJ could salvage what was going on in that tent.

The goodie bag is, as I mentioned previously, a hoodie. A size medium hoodie, because maybe I was feeling optimistic when I signed up for this race, but a hoodie nonetheless.

Afterward I met up with my parents, who are doing a bit of home redecorating and were looking for fireplaces. I didn’t get to join them on that venture in this shady little store near Belmont and Western, but I’m sure it was buckets of fun. As soon as I got in their car, though, my mom wanted to go furniture shopping for me because three years ago she wanted to get me a bedroom set for my birthday and we never did it.

The way I operate with my parents is generally this: I figure, I’m 28. I will make stupid mistakes and pretty much live like a homeless person if I have to, but I rarely ask them for help or accept theirs. They offer to do things for me, buy things for me, and I turn them down (even though they are totally awesome for doing so and I love them for doing it). If they don’t accept no, then I will say yes, and wait it out so that everyone forgets about it. A couple of years ago they wanted to buy me a new mattress for my birthday (they’re very into furniture gifts, apparently?), and I was like, “OH YEAH COOL” and then I went and bought a mattress myself and let my mom think, three years later, that she bought it for me (she found out the truth today… oh, oops).

We went to two stores, and I found a set that I liked, but I was super clear with my mom, who was poised to spend 17 million dollars.

“I only need a dresser and a nightstand,” I said.

“But what about a headboard?”

“I don’t need a headboard.”

“Really? But why wouldn’t you get a headboard?”

“Because I don’t need one.”

“Oh, Manda. You’re so sweet and simple. Well without a headboard that just makes it look… you should get a headboard.”

“When I get a house, I will get a headboard. Right now, I’m in an apartment and I could move once a year. I don’t need a headboard.”

“OH! Well, what about drawers for under your bed?”

“I don’t need drawers. I need a dresser and a nightstand. That’s all I want.”

“But what about the extra space?!”

It went on like this for quite some time. I think – I think – at the end, I won.

Afterward, there was some talk about Christmas, to which I said, “You know, I know you guys just hypothetically bought me this dresser, but I was thinking that I do need a couple wine glasses.”

To which my mom replied, “Wine glasses? What do you need those for? You know what you could use for a wine glass? A Red Solo Cup.”

“No, mom. I am not going to put wine in a solo cup.”

“Why not? And why do you even need those? You’re not entertaining anyone at your place!”

“WELL MAYBE SOMETIMES I LIKE TO ENTERTAIN MYSELF, OKAY?”

… I may get wine glasses for Christmas.

Have a good night, everyone.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Oh Saturday, My Saturday.

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Don’t count on getting the wineglasses. Better go out and buy a bag of Red Solo Cups–and proceed to party!!

Leave a Reply

