and sometimes you are blessed.

Okay. So if you’ve been reading this for a while, obviously you know that a) I complain sometimes b) occasionally I have epiphanies and everything’s sparkly and c) when all is said and done, things are more up than they are down.

Sure, my life is stressful and I haven’t gotten it all figured out quite yet, and sure my job is stressful and sometimes I think, “MAN I COULD HAVE BEEN FAMOUS OR SOMETHING INSTEAD.” But then things happen, and all I can think is, “Well, that was pretty cool, and I’m very lucky to have had this experience.”

Tonight I went out with my friend. We used to work together, and now she’s moving to Texas. I’ve seen her once since her last day (twice if you count tonight) and we went to a restaurant downtown, and met one of the managing partners. I felt like a schlub, because I rushed out of my house this morning, and wasn’t feeling quite worthy of this place, but the gentleman made us feel very comfortable. (Related: I rarely do anything to dress up but sometimes, it’s kind of necessary…)

It was nice to see her, and to talk about what’s next in her life. We talked through a bottle of wine, dinner and dessert (and, because I am me, I ended up eating some of mine with the serving fork because I wasn’t paying attention. This is why you need to turn the car around and head to McD’s instead of taking me to a nice restaurant). And at the end of it, I was feeling so grateful for the opportunity to have dinner there, with the person I was eating with, at that moment.

Life doesn’t – and won’t  – agree with you 100% of the time. You’ll still face obstacles, challenges, bad days. But every now and then, it’s nice to be able to think about the moments where life is really, really kind.  (But don’t worry, by tomorrow we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming of chocolate chip dinners and finding other things to bitch about. 🙂 )

Have a good night, everyone.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

