And then there are those days where you feel like winning.

Ok, I’ll admit it even though I don’t want to admit it:

I feel, very strongly right now, that I need to write the book. I no longer know what the subject matter will be. I just know I need to get it done. I think there are things that are pushing me in that direction, even if I don’t know what they are. Do I sound crazy? Well, I am crazy. Crazy-craze!

If you’ve noticed, I’ve talked about writing a book since I was in college.

If you’ve noticed, I said I was going to have my book done by last year.

If you’ve noticed, I applied to grad school, didn’t get in, and stopped writing.

Even if you didn’t notice, I noticed for you.

Last night, I tried to write a sentence, became increasingly overwhelmed, and went to bed.

Today I finished Augusten Burroughs’Ā “This Is How”… which summed up becomes Nike’s slogan “JUST DO IT!” And all day I’ve been like, WRITE WRITE WRITE…. but not writing…

Instead I watched “Jiro Dreams of Sushi” because someone recommended it on Facebook… and it’s about this dude who, at 85, is still dedicated to his craft. He lives sushi. That’s what he loves. I don’t love sushi. Like, we’re friendly and all, but I don’t dream of it.

My sister asked me a question last week. It was this: “If you wrote, but no one read it, would you still write?” And I didn’t say much then, but you know what? I kept a diary for many years and I don’t think anyone read that. Well, maybe my mom did. Whatever.

I gotta get it done. Even if it’s horrible. Even if no one reads it. (Although – truth be told – I hope someone does. Even if it’s just the title. ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST WHAAAAAATTTTT.)

Have a good night, everyone.

P.S. I made black bean sweet potato chili for dinner tonight, and it was AWESOME.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “And then there are those days where you feel like winning.

  1. jimmydevious says:

    Tell me about it! (No, really, TELL ME ABOUT IT. That’ll get you writing! :p lol )

    But in all seriousness, as someone who wrote their first novel (well manuscript šŸ˜‰ ) at 17 (shameless personal brag? Who, me?? lol ) I can say, it’s about two things: knowing the basic “gist” of what you want to do, and then, being like Johnny Cash and swiping that dream a “piece at a time.”

    A lot of it is just discipline, and you’re basically doing that by writing almost everyday with your blog. Now just stick that “method” to your book. A page everyday, a chapter, even a few paragraphs, just try and make sure you work on it at least a little everyday…that’s what it takes kiddo! šŸ˜‰

    Buena Suerta! B)

  2. jimmydevious says:

    BTW, I’m linking back to this post as per my topic for my “Writer’s Update Wednesday” weekly blog feature, I hope you don’t mind.

    But if perchance you do, give the word, and it will disappear from my current post. Thanks for the inspiration! šŸ™‚

  3. […] I was visiting over at THIS nice young lady’s blog I semi-regularly follow, earlier in the week, and her mentioning of her interest in writing a […]

Leave a Reply

