When Your Doctor Rejects You.

So, I’m not gonna lie. I sorta feel like my last couple posts have been “bitch whine whine bitch” because that’s exactly what they’ve been. But I’m trying not to wallow too much.

By now, the leg thing has become almost comical. But today, comical travelled to a new level.

As I mentioned yesterday, I was supposed to have a followup appointment with the first vascular doctor I saw. He was the one who sent me to the orthopedist, thinking I had compartment syndrome. The orthopedist didn’t think I had compartment syndrome, and sent me back to vascular. However, the orthopedist talked about my problem with two other vascular doctors. He called me to say that they were all kind of puzzled by my situation, but one of them was interested in doing testing.

As it turned out, this doctor was out of town when I called to schedule the tests she wanted, so I requested that I just work with the doctor I had seen originally. All seemed fine, until I got a phone call from the doctor’s office.

“Hi, Amanda? Yes, this is Cathy from the Vascular Lab. Now, listen, I know you were going to see Dr. Salen tomorrow at 2pm. But was there a reason why?”

“Um. To follow up with the tests?”

“Ok, but Dr. Salen usually leaves the office around 2pm, and those tests were actually requested by Dr. Walle. And you know, I think you’d really like her.”

I’d really like her? 

“Yes, I know, but when I spoke to my orthopedist he said that he wanted me to work with Dr. Walle, but if she wasn’t available, I should just go back to Dr. Salen.”

“Yes but you know, I really think you and Dr. Walle would be a good fit. I think you’d really like her,” she repeated again.

So this tells me two things:

1) Dr. Salen doesn’t wanna deal with my freaky ass, non-compartment-syndromed leg. (And to think, my dad thought this guy was hitting on me! 1a) Gross. 1b) No. Really. Gross.)

2) Cathy has a side job making love-connections.

“Oh, ok,” I said. I mean, what else are you supposed to say? “NO! I DEMAND THAT I SEE THE GUY WHO DOES NOT WANT TO TAKE A 2PM APPOINTMENT BECAUSE HE NORMALLY LEAVES AT THAT TIME!”

“Great!” she said. “And if it makes you feel any better, there was nothing in the tests that was cause for emergency.”

Yes, lady, I knew that yesterday. You know what else I know? My leg still is fucking swollen, and it still fucking hurts. Plot twist? I think not.

To be continued…

Have a good night, everyone.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “When Your Doctor Rejects You.

  1. Katie says:

    I’m rooting for you to like Dr. Walle. Maybe this doctor is cute, or at least knows other cute doctors…

Leave a Reply

