Oh. Hey there, September.

So it appears that I unintentionally (or maybe intentionally) took almost a year off from writing in this. To which I say, whatcha gonna do? Sometimes, you have to ignore things for a year. Like your job. Or your kids. Whatevs. (But no more than that, because otherwise you get called a deadbeat, and it’s hard to recover. Furthermore, they don’t make movies about you with happy, heartfelt endings.)

I had hopes for the year, like, “2013! BE AWESOME!”, but it didn’t turn out the way I think I would have liked. The first couple months were marred by my leg saga (still swollen, less hurty, no answers). Because of that, I stopped running and kickboxing. I may take it up again (definitely would love to get back into kickboxing, because sometimes this girl needs to beat shit UP), but we’re still a while from that.

I think somewhere around the end of March or April I just kind of lost all direction in my life. It’s been a slow climb back up to some sort of clarity, but I can confidently say I am better off now than I was. To tell you the truth, I don’t even know how it happened. It’s like I woke up one morning and said to myself, “Self, are you DONE with all this petty shit?” and it turned out that I was.

So, I remain fighting the good fight (does anyone fight a bad fight? If so, call me! giggle). I am doing Pilates on a semi-regular basis, which kind of helps my brain but hurts my abs, and am exploring cardio options that don’t make me want to die. I did a Second City class for a while before work got in the way, but may go back at some point. I guess, to some extent, I’m still floating around aimlessly, but it’s controlled (like floating on your back. In a pool, and not the ocean. … If this analogy doesn’t work, it’s because I cannot, actually, float. I’m not a great swimmer. I’m getting off topic. Moving on.) I am attempting to get all the ducks in a row, but they’re squirmy bitches who absolutely DO NOT WANT TO LINE UP.

I try anyway, and tell myself that the experience is what counts. Lately, life has been pretty solid. I recently got to go to my favorite place in the entire world (Boston, because I’ve never even been out of North America) with one of my best friends, and it was – as I hoped it would be – amazing and life-affirming, like a Baptist in Sunday service. Soon, I’ll be going to Phoenix to visit family, and in October, I’ll be visiting more family in Seattle.

After that, I’m out of vacation days and I’ve pretty much been out of money since I started adulthood, so I’ll try to finish out the year feeling grateful and content, even so.

And if I have trouble, there’s always alcohol. 🙂

Have a great day, everyone.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Oh. Hey there, September.

  1. Erica says:

    Welcome back! So glad you are blogging again, I missed reading your posts!

Leave a Reply

