work work work

I’ve been thinking a lot about Maya Angelou’s quote, “Nothing will work unless you do,” lately.

I’ve tried to get back into training (I signed up for a 10-miler in May) and I’m not doing so well. I’ve run pretty consistently (about 2 to 3 times a week) but they are sad spectacles. The other day I ran for 6 and a half minutes straight until I thought I was going to die, and then realized I was running a 10:30 mile, which really would have made me die. I tried to slow it down and keep running, but I pretty much did myself in.

But, you know, this won’t work unless I do. This morning I briefly thought about getting out of bed at 4am just to get my run over with, and then magically fell back to sleep. It took me an hour and a half to get out the door once I woke up again and I was out for about 25 minutes before I ran my ass back inside. I barely got to two miles, if that.

I feel like I’m tackling two issues, here. One is the motivation to run, which I struggle with but keep pushing myself to do, and the other is to run continuously. I have moments where I’m able to push past the pain and the annoyance and go for broke, but they’re kind of fleeting. I really would love to run this race without stopping to walk (I can walk pretty quickly… when I’m not running in between). I have no idea what that would take.

On the other hand, when I’m outside struggling to breathe like a fish on dry land, I get to witness things I otherwise would not have seen. Today I saw a very special moment between a man and his dog, where the guy was trying in vain to get his dog to stay before crossing the street. He said, “Sit!” “Stay!” “Wait!” and then, finally, he yelled “GET IT TOGETHER!”

… I think that’s a happy household.

Have a good night, all.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

